Record Store Day 2012

If you’re like me then you know that the real Christmas arrives the third Saturday in April.  That’s right, Record Store Day.  2012 brought us a second RSD as well, to coincide with Black Friday.  I’m not complaining.  I seem to get inanely giddy as the day approaches.  I’ve squirreled away money, made my list of albums and singles I’d love to add to my collection.  I’ll run around town to my local record peddlers (Vinyl Alibi) and gather my findings like a prospector panning for his riches.  I know I’m not alone on this as silly as it may seem.   By noon hour I’ll be on my way to the big city (Toronto) and snag up whatever else I can or couldn’t get my hands on in my small town of Bowmanville.  For the music lover, RSD is like when you were a kid at recess and one of your fellow classmates yells out “scrambles” at the marble pit and hurls a slew of the round coveted treasures out into the school yard.  You become frenzied with anticipation as to which, if any of the rare finds you will be lucky enough to take home.

This year’s RSD had over 500 titles released. Reissues, 7″, 10″ lp’s, double lp’s, ltd colour pressings, almost every release part of a limited numbered run never to be seen again.  It’s enough to make every record collector lose sleep for days leading up to the moment the stores doors open.  

For my first RSD entry for Aural Tethers I’d like to share with you some of my favourite limited RSD scores from the year.

 

The Black Angels – Lonely/Watch Out Boy 7″

Gravenhurst – The Prize 10″

Mad Season – River Of Deceit/I Don’t Know Anything 10″

Jay Farrar + Yim Yames – New Multitudes 12″ lp

Lee Hazelwood – The LHI Years: singles, nudes & backsides ’68-’71 2lp gatefold

Love – Forever Changes 12″lp

Mississippi John Hurt – The Last Sessions 12″lp

Grateful Dead – Europe ’72: Dark Star 12″lp

Grateful Dead – Live @ The Winterland (5/30/71) 2lp gatefold

Sigur Ros – Hvarf/Heim 2lp gatefold

Nirvana – 20th Anniversary Incesticide 12″lp

The Flaming Lips – Heady Fwends 2lp gatefold

Joe Strummer – Live at Action Hall (15/11/2002) 2 lp 

Black Rebel Motorcycle Club – Howl Sessions 12″lp

About sdetaeye

What's burning once was whispering
This entry was posted in Welcome to Aural Tethers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

